Get Back on the Road: 3 Steps to Reinstating Your Driver’s License in Illinois
Having a driver’s license is an important means of transportation and independence for many people, and losing the privilege to drive due to a suspended license can greatly affect one’s daily life. It is essential to understand the steps required to reinstate a driver’s license and the potential consequences of not following the proper procedures. In this blog post, we will provide you with a guide to reinstating your driver’s license in Illinois in 3 steps.
Step 1: Have a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) Installed and Complete an Alcohol and Drug Evaluation by a Division of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse-Licensed Provider
If your driver’s license has been suspended in Illinois, you may be able to have it reinstated by installing a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) in your vehicle. A BAIID is a device that requires you to blow into it before starting your vehicle. If the device detects alcohol on your breath, the vehicle will not start.
Installing a BAIID is one of the requirements for reinstating your driver’s license if it has been suspended for a DUI offense. You will need to have the device installed in each vehicle that you own or operate. The cost of installing a BAIID varies, but typically ranges from about $50-$200. Furthermore, you will be required to complete an alcohol/drug evaluation by a Division of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse (DASA)-licensed provider. The evaluation will help determine if you have a substance abuse problem and what level of treatment, if any, is recommended. DASA-licensed providers are located throughout the state and can be found on the DASA website. Once you have completed the evaluation, you will need to provide proof of completion to the Secretary of State’s office.
Step 2: Pay All Fines and Fees
If your driver’s license has been suspended in Illinois, you will need to pay all outstanding fines and fees before you can begin the process of reinstating your license. Depending on the reason for your suspension, you could be responsible for a reinstatement fee of $70 to $500. Once you have paid off fines and fees, you will be able to move on to the next step in the reinstatement process.
Step 3: Participate in a Hearing with the Secretary of State
If your license has been suspended, you will need to participate in a hearing with a Secretary of State hearing officer. The purpose of the hearing is to give you an opportunity to explain why your license should not be suspended. You may participate in an informal or formal hearing.
If you have an informal hearing, the hearing officer will review the evidence and make a decision based on that evidence. If you have a formal hearing, the hearing will be conducted like a court proceeding. You will be able to present evidence and witnesses and cross-examine the evidence presented by the Secretary of State. After both sides have presented their case, the hearing officer will make a decision.
Contact an Experienced Illinois License Reinstatement Lawyer
Reinstating a driver’s license after a suspension can be a challenging process. However, with the right support and guidance, it can be accomplished successfully. We hope that this guide has provided you with a clear understanding of the steps required for driver’s license reinstatement in Illinois. If you require assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us today. Our experienced attorneys can provide the guidance and support you need to navigate the reinstatement process successfully.